top of page


ABC Swim UK follow and are signed up to the Swimming Teachers Association's International Learn to Swim Programme. This begins at baby and toddler lessons and go all the way through to advanced swimming and diving.  Below is a picture outlining the progression ladder that children can follow, starting at Starfish and going all the way along to Lifeguard Academy and Advanced Swimmer Series



An innovative series of six progressive awards designed to introduce babies to a water adventure where confidence and safety skills are introduced.


Click on the Starfish for for more information-


Stanley FiRST Steps

The STAnley First Steps Series is an exciting series of 7 progressive awards specifically designed to teach learners from 2 years – with or without an accompanying adult – basic swimming and water safety skills.

A child’s first learn to swim experience is one of the most important in terms of capturing and retaining their interest. We believe the best way to achieve this is to create safe environments in which children can be introduced to the water whilst having fun and by providing a progressive learn to swim programme that is both challenging and rewarding.

Click on Stanley for more information 



The Octopus series is an exciting series of 3 progressive awards specifically designed for child aged between 5 to 8 years old.

Click on Octopus for more information 


This programme is designed to be the next stage for swimmers who have progressed through either the STAnley First Steps Series or Octopus Series.

The Goldfish series is an exciting series of 3 progressive awards expanding on skills in a fun, progressive, challenging and rewarding way.

Click on Goldfish for more information 


Once swimmers have completed the Goldfish Series they can progress to the Angelfish Series. On completion of the 3 progressive awards in this series, swimmers will be capable of swimming 25 metres without aid, perform butterfly stroke as well as mastering sculling techniques and entries to the water.

Click on Angelfish for more information


On completion of the Angelfish Series, learners progress to the Shark Series. This series educates learners in basic water rescue and survival techniques as well as starts and turns for each of the strokes. On completion of the series learners will be able to swim 100 metres.

Click on Shark for more infomation


As well as these awards, there are others that can complement the awards or can be stand alone celebrations of the small achievements

Click here for details 

bottom of page